History of the club
The Fleetwood Hesketh Club was founded in 1925, the land being given by the Fleetwood Hesketh family to be used as a recreation ground.
Shortly after two ex-army huts were aquired and erected on the ground by volunteers, earning the club the nickname "The Hut".
Sports, including football, cricket and bowls, were soon introduced and the club was named The Fleetwood Hesketh Institute. The name lasted some 40 years and continued to be run by volunteers as a 'dry house'.
In 1968 a liquor license was granted and the club became The Fleetwood Hesketh Sports and Social Club. This turned out to be the saviour of the club until disaster struck in September 1977 when 95% of the premises was burnt to the ground.
Within two weeks the site was cleared and new foundations were laid. Work on rebuilding the club was all voluntary and on a budget of £12,000 it was rebuilt and fully reopened in 1978.
Further alterations and extensions have since been carried out to make the club what it is today - the largest sports and social club in Southport.
Today our club is a vibrant social club with members across the generations. We are proud of our strong connections with the Southport community. We host a range of social events as well as excellent sporting activities and opportunities (click here for information). We also have Southport's best kept secret - a secluded beer garden away from the busy roadside, overlooking our bowling green.
We are always happy to welcome new members to our club. Membership entitlements include discounted beverage prices at all our bars, exclusive offers from club sponsors and the opportunity to participate in any of our sporting teams.